Classic Movie Actresses Tourney 2013

Classic Movie Actresses Tourney 2013

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

TCM is My Best Friend

Well, it's pretty obvious TCM (U.S.) is amazing to someone like me because one again, they are showing another Rosalind Russell marathon... tomorrow.

I'll show you a list again of what they will show tomorrow:

The Velvet Touch (1948)
6:30 am (ET)/3:30 am (PT)
After accidentally killing her lecherous producer, a famous actress tries to hide her guilt.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Leo Genn

Tell it to the Judge (1949)
8:15 am (ET)/5:15 am (PT)
To win back her husband, a divorcée pretends to be married to a loser.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Robert Cummings


A Woman of Distinction (1950)
9:45 am (ET)/6:45 am (PT)
A publicity hungry press agent creates a romance between an icy college dean and a visiting lecturer.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Ray Milland


Never Wave at a WAC (1950)
11:15 am (ET)/8:15 am (PT)
  A divorced socialite joins the Army hoping it will improve her love life.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Paul Douglas


Picnic (1955)
12:45 pm (ET)/9:45 am (PT)
A handsome drifter ignites passions at a small-town Labor Day picnic.
Starring: William Holden, Kim Novak


Gypsy (1962)
2:45 pm (ET)/11:45 am (PT)
A domineering mother pushes her two daughters to burlesque stardom.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Natalie Wood


Mrs. Pollifax--Spy (1971)
5:15 pm (ET)/2:15 pm (PT)
A society woman volunteers to root out enemy agents in Albania.
 Starring: Rosalind Russell, Darren McGavin

And if you don't live in the U.S. or you don't have the TCM channel, why not have a marathon of your own? ;) Have a great week, everyone. 


Saturday, October 23, 2010

"Mrs. Pollifax--Spy" (1971)

Ah... I am so glad they are playing this film because I have only seen it on YouTube and am very glad to finally see it on the TV. It was Rosalind's last feature film. She was feeling the signs of her rheumatoid arthritis during the shooting of this film, and this is a disease that would plague her the last 5 years of her life (along with cancer, which she had been fighting for many years already). If you are able to catch this on TCM, I hope you enjoy it! I did.

Friday, October 22, 2010

"Gypsy" (1962)

Okay... I have to admit, this is my SECOND favorite Rosalind Russell movie (behind "Auntie Mame," of course) because I love the way Roz interprets this character and although she may have had limited vocal abilities (although I do love the way they mixed the voices in the songs)... she was a marvelous actress and I love the great job she did in this film. I'm surprised she didn't get nominated for an Oscar, although she did win the Golden Globe!

Read about Gypsy here. 

"Gypsy" will be playing on TCM on October 28.

Sorry about the watermark, but I love this photo with the cake!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

"Picnic" (1955)

Although this is really a supporting role, I think this is one of Rosalind's finest dramatic performances.

Read about Picnic here. 

"Picnic" will be playing on TCM on October 28.

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

"Never Wave at a WAC" (1952)

This is the last movie Rosalind made before taking a bit of a hiatus from movies to do a few shows on the stage [including two Broadway hits, Wonderful Town (1953) and Auntie Mame (1956)].

Read about Never Wave at a WAC here. 

Hey, this kind of works because this movie will play on Thursday, October 28!

Monday, October 18, 2010

Rosalind Russell Mini-Marathon on TCM Tomorrow!

Do not forget, all that live in the U.S. who have the Turner Classic Movies channel, that they will be playing a marathon of Roz's movies from 6 am (EST) to 8 pm (EST)! :)

These are the movies they will be playing tomorrow:

6 am/3 am (EST/PST) Evelyn Prentice (1934)
A criminal lawyer's wife faces blackmail when she has an affair.
Starring: William Powell, Myrna Loy

7:30 am/4:30 am (EST/PST) The Night is Young (1935)
A European nobleman falls for a ballerina.
Starring: Evelyn Laye, Ramon Novarro

9 am/6 am (EST/PST) Craig's Wife (1936)
A woman puts her beautiful house ahead of her family.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, John Boles  

10:30 am/7:30 am (EST/PST) Trouble for Two (1936)
Before he can marry, a European prince gets mixed up with a suicide club.
Starring: Robert Montgomery, Rosalind Russell

12 pm/9 am (EST/PST) Man-Proof (1938)
A woman refuses to give up on the man she loves, even after he marries someone else.
Starring: Myrna Loy, Franchot Tone

1:45 pm/10:45 am (EST/PST) What a Woman! (1943)
A female literary agent tries to make her star client as adventurous as his most famous character.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Brian Aherne

3:30 pm/12:30 pm (EST/PST) The Guilt of Janet Ames (1947)
A hard-drinking reporter tries to help the embittered widow of the soldier who had saved his life during the war.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Melvyn Douglas

5 pm/2 pm (EST/PST) Mourning Becomes Electra (1947)
Repressed passions and shameful secrets destroy a New England family.
Starring: Rosalind Russell, Michael Redgrave



Sunday, October 17, 2010

"A Woman of Disinction" (1950)

This is probably Roz's last effort as her "typical-career-woman-who-has-no-room-for-romance," but I just love it. It is so funny and full of physical comedy!

Read about A Woman of Distinction here. 

"A Woman of Distinction" will play on TCM on October 28.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

"Tell it to the Judge" (1949)

A very funny comedy! Both Rosalind and Bob Cummings are funny.

Read about Tell it to the Judge here. 

"Tell it to the Judge" will be playing on TCM on October 28.

 Just had to add this because it is just hilarious!

Friday, October 15, 2010

"The Velvet Touch" (1948)

One might call this "Murder With Style." Roz plays a Broadway STAR, which, I must say, she plays very well. She will become a real Broadway star about 5 years after this movie.

Read about The Velvet Touch here.

"The Velvet Touch" is playing on TCM on October 28.